Status & Roadmap
FAQ
Authors & License
Forums
Funding Ultimate++
Search on this site
Search in forums

SourceForge.net Logo
Home » Community » Newbie corner » No forward declaration.
No forward declaration. [message #40833] Sun, 22 September 2013 00:39 Go to next message
akspring is currently offline  akspring
Promising Member
Hello,

I am a C# programmer with a problem.

//No .h! I only only using .cpp files in my packages. What is the point of .h if you are not porting your code// and use your own namespace?

#include <CtrlLib/Core> //<< Just example to make this snippet seem more legitimate.

class childClass //Thanks to guy who made this snippet
{
parentClass parent; //reference to class that created this child
childClass(parentClass p)
{
parent = p;
}
};

class parentClass
{
childClass child(this);
};

This sort of thing compiles in C# / Java. But not in C++.

This is what I have found so far:

1) Lzz, or Lazy - http://www.lazycplusplus.com/index.html
Will offer to generate a .h and .cpp that I can use. I haven't played with it, but can I integrate it onto top of U++ for one click compiling? I will have to play with it later. Would hate to do much more than 1-2 clicks, and don't want to overwrite current source files, such as example above. However disposable output files from lazy would be great of course, as long as I don't see it.

2) Rearrange code, so ParentClass is before ChildClass, as mentioned here: http://www.ultimatepp.org/forum/index.php?t=msg&goto=228 9&&srch=law#msg_2289

This works if only one class is using the other, but not if they are both being used by each other! Not exactly solution for me. Does work for some of my classes, though I have to put them near the top of my file!

3) I have read about friend classes. Is that a solution to use?

4) Use a different compiler that supports this with some kind of preprocessing?

5) This is the only solution that I have found which seems to really work. I haven't tried it yet either:

{