FAQ
Authors & License
Forums
Funding Ultimate++
Search on this site
Search in forums

SourceForge.net Logo
Home » Community » Newbie corner » Questions about VectorMap
Questions about VectorMap [message #25765] Wed, 10 March 2010 22:24 Go to next message
cbpporter is currently offline  cbpporter
Ultimate Contributor
I'm a newbie at VectorMap and friend implementations (AIndex) and never written a hash map implementation myself, though I have used a lot and read enough documentation about them so I could sit down and write a reasonable, yet probably somewhat naive one of the top of my head.

In my newest project I have a centralized string repository. Every entity that has a string like name refers to this repository. The repository must be indexable and streamable, so a constant index that survives the entire run time of the application during multiple read/writes in streams is desirable.

The most obvious solution is th have a Vector<String>. Items are added at the end, so index uniqueness is guaranteed. Problem is that lookup is slow on such vectors: O(n) worst case. Using binary vector is not possible because that would shift the indexes around.

So why not use VectorMap? Right now I'm using a VectorMap<String, int>. The int is the index in another Array<String> which preserves the order of indexes, and the VectorMap is used only for fast lookup of the index.

But VectorMap is also indexed? What guarantees are there regarding this index. As the hash grows, will it get invalidated? Storing pointers to the values is probably a bad idea.

The end result should be that before first streaming you are able to gather all strings, you can practically create a perfect hash function. With perfect hash function a VectorMap becomes practically a Vector.