Status & Roadmap
FAQ
Authors & License
Forums
Funding Ultimate++
Search on this site
Search in forums

SourceForge.net Logo
Home » Community » Newbie corner » Statically linked Web Browser (Is it possible to create a statically linked Web browser with U++)
Re: Statically linked Web Browser [message #50294 is a reply to message #50292] Thu, 13 September 2018 22:40 Go to previous messageGo to previous message
seasoned_geek is currently offline  seasoned_geek
Promising Member
Novo wrote on Thu, 13 September 2018 15:10
Have you checked "bazaar/ChromiumBrowser"?
I'm not an expert in CEF, but I found this: https://stackoverflow.com/questions/28697196/compile-chromiu m-embedded-3-project-statically-with-libcef-static-lib
Theoretically, you should be able to compile CEF as a static library.
AFAIK, CEF has a multi-process architecture, so, you won't be able to create one fat "include all" executable.
You can check for similar functionality with other web-browsers. Maybe, they allow to use single-process architecture. I'm not an expert in Web-UI. A huge Web-UI based project my employer was working on for many years has failed, although we had a lot of success with Flash-based vector GUI, which we implemented as a static library.
Qt browser library should use a third-party rendering engine. It is practically impossible to develop another decent in-house rendering engine and JavaScript engine.

It is much easier to create regular GUI app with UPP and convert it into Web-GUI using TURTLE (example: reference/WebWord) Smile

Hope this helps.