Status & Roadmap
FAQ
Authors & License
Forums
Funding Ultimate++
Search on this site
Search in forums

SourceForge.net Logo
Home » Developing U++ » U++ Developers corner » U++ development: Two philosophies
Re: U++ development: Two philosophies [message #30708 is a reply to message #30634] Mon, 17 January 2011 22:46 Go to previous messageGo to previous message
harmac is currently offline  harmac
Promising Member
I'm new to C++ and U++. People seem to use both for their projects to solve specific problems of theirs or to get some work done, and while both tools are of some help, their main concern is not necessarily the improvement of the tools but to solve their problem. Considering this, the notion of "development philosophies" might not be the best approach to describe U++ packages development, for although two different package developers might face similar problems, they might still have different requirements for their specific problems, possibly at different times, and this might be a reason for packages with similar functionality, which could then be seen as uncoordinated efforts.

It would indeed be very desirable to avoid such parallel efforts, but U++ itself doesn't seem to be a coordinated effort. Does it seek to be one? Things would sure be somewhat easier, if people knew their future demands in advance, or if U++'s developers weren't distributed people with different circumstances as regards their jobs or tool requirements. This is rather an inherent problem that the main development effort of these people is not U++ itself.

Apart from that, I'm with Koldo in that cooperation looks like a better approach than competition, or, as he phrases it, "1+1 > 2". I'd say, that is, that a team has properties not present in either of its members (I think, Wikipedia would call that "emergence"), and that might be in addition to any synergies.